It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Knee Paddling Technique - Need some advice
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 2:21 pm 

Question to all your knee paddler experts out there. I bought a Bark Tuflite 14 at the end of last summer. I am completely new to the sport. I have been having a really hard time trying to figure out knee paddling. I keep falling over which started to get really code in September and October when I was just wearing board shorts.

I am not sure if my position is wrong, if I am going too slow, missing some other unknown trick.

I tend to think that I have pretty good balance but the board is much more "tippy" than I tought. I am 6 foot and 180 pounds.

If anyone could break down knee paddling that would be great. Maybe this is already published somewhere.

Thanks in advance.

Chris Malek

Post subject: Re: Knee Paddling Technique - Need some advice
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 2:51 pm 

Not an expert but can tell you what has worked for a few of us.

Out of the water sit on your feet in paddle position, Childs pose for you yoga peeps, and just get used to the position. Get out of your hchair or sofa when watching tv and sit in paddle position. I'm doing it now as I type.

Do the same on an exercise ball (insert legal disclaimer here). This is a way to work on balance out of the water, and stretch, and strengthen some core.

On the water, if it's not flat, head into the bump or wind for practice as opposed to side chop. Keep your head low and butt up.

A few of us use the garmin 305 and set the interval to beep every few minutes. A stopwatch timer works too, or count your strokes. At the beep or on whatever count you decide, get up to your knees, go another beep and get back prone, repeat. It forces you to practice transitions and instead of thinking about whether or not you feel stable, you just do it. Eventually you will feel stable on your knees and even maybe more so than prone.